Powerful Thought from C.S. Lewis

C.S. Lewis confessed that he too struggled with how to truly love the sinner while hating the sin.  One day it suddenly became clear:

It occurred to me that there was one man to whom I had been doing this all my life – namely myself.  However much I might dislike my own cowardice or conceit or greed, I went on loving myself.  There had never been the slightest difficulty about it.  In fact the very reason why I hated the things was that I love the man.  Just because I loved myself, I was sorry to find that I was the sort of man who did those things.

We extend this charity to ourselves, so the question begs to be asked: Why do we not extend this same charity to our spouse (Feel free to insert children, friends, parents, teammates, strangers or any other fitting person here)?

As I read the above excerpt from C.S. Lewis, as quoted by Gary Thomas, it received a big, bold star next to the underlining it earned on my first read.  It is better to be reminded than instructed, and I appreciated the reminder.  Not only to do to others what I’d want done to me, but give others the grace I so willingly give to myself.

This is my mission if I choose to accept it (this message will not self destruct in 5 seconds 🙂 ).

8 Comments

Filed under Faith, Family, Friends, LIFE

8 responses to “Powerful Thought from C.S. Lewis

  1. Jeff Stockhausen

    Great point and well taken, places that scripture verse in a different light…Thanks!

  2. Thank you for this insightful reminder Jammie!

  3. It’s amazing how often the Golden Rule comes up, isn’t it? Great post and reminder!

  4. Wow! Interesting way to look at something that gives many people trouble. Funny that I read this as I am teaching my son math!
    Thank you,
    Steve Leurquin

  5. Chris Fisher

    This reminder helps in my daily life. Thank you

  6. Boy, if I could just keep that at the forefront of my ‘judge-mental’ brain when dealing with people who won’t do what you want them to do (haha)…. thanks!

Leave a Reply

